Home Page

Assessment without levels

Haddon Primary and Nursery School

Assessment Rationale
In 2014 the Government introduced new National Curriculum in State schools in England.

Fundamentally, this sets out what pupils should learn in all subjects and schools are then required to assess pupils against Achievement Statements for each subject.

As part of our vision at Haddon Primary School we aim to find the positives in all we do so that we are able to appreciate and celebrate successes and then make them even better.

Assessment without levels allows us to do this, therefore:-

  • Teachers at Haddon Primary School are assessing children all of the time, constantly considering how well they have understood their learning and what the next steps are.
  • Teachers use Achievement Statement Grids to assess reading, writing and maths.
  • Teachers talk to children about their next steps, so that they know the things they need to get better at.
  • Teachers update their assessments records for each child regularly and systematically.
  • Children's progress is discussed throughout the year with School Leaders .
  • Children's attainment and progress is shared with parents and carers at Termly Learning Conferences.

Assessing the new National Curriculum using Achievement Statements

Achievements Statements measure the following 2 types of targets:

Foundational Targets

These targets focus on learning that is at a foundational level. Children need to be accurate and fluent in basic skills and foundational knowledge.

There are 3 depths at which foundational targets are assessed:

Accurate Quick Applying


Conceptual Targets

These targets focus on assessing learning that is at a conceptual level.  Children build on their foundational learning and can connect ideas and skills in sophisticated ways.


With Support            By myself     Supporting Someone Else
  • Foundational and Conceptual Learning make different but complementary contributions to making a highly effective learner.
  • We teach Foundational skills differently from the way we teach Conceptual skills e.g. avoiding errors in foundational learning while encouraging exploration of errors in conceptual learning.
  • We assess progress in Foundational skills in different ways from the way we assess Conceptual skills.



Foundation Stage

At the end of the Foundation Stage, children are given 'scores' against a set of 7 key areas of learning and development. These cover the Prime Areas of Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Physical Development and Communication and Language and the 4 specific areas of Maths, Literacy, Expressive Arts ad Design and Understanding the  World.

For each goal, your child's report will have information on whether they are meeting expectations, exceeding them or if they are still working towards the skill concerned (this will be called 'emerging' in their report).


Year 2 - SATS - Parents Meeting Power Point Presentation

Year 6 - SATS - Parents Meeting Power Point Presentation